The Summer Days

I love the summer,

When the green trees blow,

And the sound of the wind is whistling in my ears.

I love the grills, and the taste of hamburgers in the afternoon,

The smell of the sweet hay as I drive past the farms with the windows opened,

And hearing the sound of the cows grazing upon the fields.

I love to hear the hooves of the horses

And the sights of the great mountains,

And the dawn of a new day with colors like scented orange

And light pink mixed in.

I love the sight of the great rivers as I canoe

And as I wade through the water.

The minnows tickle my toes.

I love when I jump into a pool,

And the chill water reaches from my nose to the tip of my toes.

Now fall has come,

But I will remember summer.

6 thoughts on “The Summer Days

  1. Hi from Portugal,

    Lovely poem, lovely way to say goodbye to a favourite season. What about Fall? I love sunny but cold mornings 🙂
    Feel free to get in touch and as soon as I can, I’ll answer you back.
    Best wishes,
    Teacher Alex

  2. Hi this is Nature Researcher, have you ever ridden in a canoe? I like the picture at the end of the poem. I liked how you included the feelings, the tastes and the smells of Summer in your peom.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *