If I Were a 49er: Gold in California

I was reading the news one morning.  It said something about a gold rush, and that very night I decided to go to California to find gold.

I was going on the California Trail.  It was the most time consuming, but it was the cheapest.  When I arrived, I bought a pick, a shovel, pan, tent, and food and water.  I started panning a a nearby stream.  The mud was cold.

After a couple of hours of hard work, I found something shiny in the pan.  It was gold!  I picked it up.  It was a gold nugget.

In a couple of days, my luck ran out, and I decided to build a farm ten miles or so from Sutter’s Mill, was gold was discovered.  I decided to start a farm because it wasn’t the gold miners who usually got rich.  It was the farmers and shop keepers.

After about a year, things quieted down in California, and silver was discovered in Nevada.  I made a decision to stay in California on my happy little farm.

One thought on “If I Were a 49er: Gold in California

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *