If I Were in Charge of the World

If I Were in Charge of the World

(Form change poem with thanks to Judith Viorst)

If I were in charge of the world,
I’d cancel deadly Brussels sprouts, masks,
And also burn all Barbie dolls.

If I were in charge of the world,
There would be more pizza, more ice cream, and lots of awesome target practice.

If I were in charge of the world,
You wouldn’t have pink walls,
You wouldn’t have showers,
And you wouldn’t have terrible tasting foods like green beans.

If I were in charge of the world,
Hamburgers, french fries, ramen, and Doritos would be a balanced meal,
All people would hate dolls,
And a person who sometimes tears his clothes by mistake
And sometimes makes his brother laugh in the middle of prayer
Would still be allowed to be
In charge of the world.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *